Are You Living, Or Simply Existing?

This is a question I’ve come across a few times in my life but never really stopped to actually think about it. Sometimes I question whether or not I’m on the right track or living up to my full potential. Sometimes I wonder why exactly I am here, why do I exist? But I never asked myself why I live. That’s probably because I haven’t really been living. Sure, I’m alive in the fact that i’m breathing and typing this but beyond that? I’ve also noticed that I am not the only one, I even see other bloggers having a difficult time lately. We’re all going through some serious life changes and discoveries (of both the world and ourselves).

Cherylene, who blogs at livingvsexisting has written a special guest post that couldn’t have come at a better time! I think we all will benefit from this post in some way so please take the time to read.

Living Versus Existing; Cherylene Nicholas

I believe there are three classifications of people in this world, the ‘living’, the ‘existing’ and the dead.

The ‘living’ take the life they have and make the most use of it. When you are living you are constantly moving, improving and learning. Persons who are ‘existing’ on the other hand are doing just enough to sustain life.

We do this when we go through our daily routines day after day with no real drive or sense of purpose other than to get through the day and hopefully not die while we do so. Our lives can and should be so much more than that.

Some may say to live you must exist and thus to exist is to live. However, although in theory this is true the reality is much different. Many of us go to work, manage families, balance resources, and do our best to take care of everyone else in our lives while inside we are struggling with our own internal issues.

How many of us eat but aren’t full, sleep but don’t rest, hear but don’t listen because we’re so busy trying to survive or play the balancing act with the issues in our lives? Marital issues, relationship drama, poor health, financial burdens, work stress, and so much more can have us distracted, depressed, stressed and unhappy. The challenges of being alive can get to us but how we choose to handle them is what separates the living from the existing.

Here are my Top 15 Signs you are ‘Living’ and not just ‘Existing’.  

1. You make time to pamper and treat yourself rather than list excuses why you should not.

2. You make time to do fun things with your family and friends. It is not just about work.

3. You do not allow the challenges that life brings your way to keep you down or depressed.

4. You are always seeking knowledge and wisdom in various areas of your life.

5. You are willing to try new things and explore new places.

6. You do not allow the word “No” to discourage you instead you use it as a motivator to find a solution.

7. You do not allow negativity to steal your joy.

8. You recognize that life is too short to waste it on negative thinking or negative people.

9. You strive to be positive in your thinking and your interactions.

10. You choose to enjoy the good moments; learn from the bad and move forward.

11. You recognize that you don’t exist in this world by yourself and thus you try to help others less fortunate than yourself whenever you can.

12. You recognize and accept that no one is perfect.

13. Your focus is on striving to be your best self and living your best life.

14. You do not leave your happiness to chance.

15. You recognize that true happiness comes from within and thus do not depend on others to make you happy.

Living versus existing is therefore a state of mind that you choose to manifest in your everyday life. Someone who is ‘living’ makes the decision to do more with the life they have and often push themselves to do more because they expect more. A person who is ‘existing’ settles in their thinking and accepts the shortcomings in their life because sometimes they have just lost the will to fight.

My life is not perfect but that does not deter me from wanting to make it better. No matter how tough or challenging things might be right now, believe me when I tell you things can get better. Assess, Review and Take Action.

Ask yourself, am I existing or living?

What is more important however is what are you going to do about it?

The main difference between life and death is that the living gets another chance to do things right while the dead have been taken out of the fight.

After reading this post and paying special attention to Chery’s 15 signs, I realize I definitely have some things I need to work on in order to actually live my life and not simply exist. Some of the statements on the list I have been neglecting and they are definitely a huge reason for some of my worse days. I can proudly say that I have already been working on this. What are your thoughts? Did this list get you thinking about your own life? Do you feel like you have truly been living? Comment your thoughts.✨
img_5723-5

8 thoughts on “Are You Living, Or Simply Existing?

  1. Thank you Lee for sharing. I am glad that you found the list helpful and more importantly that you have already taken steps to correct the areas of your life that were previously neglected. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is also a topic I’ve thought many many times. Yes, like you said, nobody leads a perfect life- everybody goes through those low points once in a while,but you can’t be doing nothing about it. Struggle, find ways to come out of it! That’s how life should work.
    Amazing read!
    ❤️

    Like

  3. Great post, we all need to stop and reflect on these sentiments from time tot time as it’s easy to slip into comfort zones and routine. I love the 15 signs listed above – I would add just being grateful for small blessings – it’s easy to take things for granted until you no longer have them, no matter how small. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

