Poetry makes you feel & think…✨

There are times when poetry can tell the perfect story. There are times when a poem sums up your entire life, or even just the situation you are in. I love reading and writing those most. You can feel all of the emotion but there’s something about those words that can temporarily take the pain away, or have you thinking differently in a positive way. You feel inspired. At least I do.

There are a few poems Cherylene has written that has done just that- described my feelings and current situation and then brought light to my dark thoughts. I’ll be sharing them with you today and also why I felt a connection.

A snippet of Cherylene’s poem Breakthrough:

“…This type of existence is diminishing your significance

That self-defeating attitude is drying up your gratitude…”

My connection: Yes! The issues I am currently dealing with and how I am handling them are causing me to live a depressed existence. Keeping me from following in my life purpose which I believe is to tell my story and inspire others through my writing and other ways of creativity. To help others. I can’t begin to help others until I can help myself. This self-defeating attitude I have lately is only doing me harm.

Cherylene’s Poem I Refuse:

I refuse to be still

As you seek power over my will

I refuse to be quiet when there’s so much to say

Can’t stay silent another day

I refuse to be the victim

So that kind of thinking

I’m definitely changing

I refuse to do nothing

When I know I can do something

I refuse to accept mediocrity

As this limits who I can truly be

I refuse to let you steal my joy

Playing with it like some sort of toy

I refuse to give your negative words meaning

It’s my happiness you’re intent on stealing

I refuse to believe the lies you’ve told

In an effort to corrupt my soul

I refuse to be anyone but me

Because even in my imperfection

My life still has direction

So long as I have purpose

I will continue to focus

So you do you

And I’ll do me

In the end

I will still be free.

My connection: Usually, when i’m feeling down or hurt about something I keep quiet about it. In general I let all of my thoughts and emotions build up inside of me until I can take no more and explode. Many people have walked all over me and taken advantage of me because of this. I’ve been picked on and bullied because of this. Many people underestimate me because of this. I can continue to be silent and do nothing but i’m choosing to speak and take action. This is for my personal life and blog life. I refuse to continue my blog like this while i’m not happy with it, I refuse to be afraid of changing and losing views/follows by making a fresh start. The fresh start is needed and needs are better for us than our wants. I’m not at my best right now but my life still has direction and purpose. I will stay focused. I will be free, and happy.

A snippet of Cherylene’s Daily Post Prompt (using the word catapult) Life Challenges:

“…Just when we feel like giving up

Just when we wished the world would stop

Just when we’ve said, “enough is enough”

In come our blessings to catapult us up

Up, above and out of the strife

Up and into a better life

All we had to do was endure

All we had to do was explore

Digging deep into our core

Soon to discover we are so much more.”

My connection: I came very close to giving up many times, I’ve had to endure many things in life but usually after a very bad time a blessing follows. I believe that things will be better soon, I believe blessings are coming as long as I keep that faith and keep going, as long as I keep exploring life and digging deep into my soul.

Never give up on life or the things you truly love that serve you purpose. I add “that serve you purpose” because not everything or everyone we love should be held onto. Not everyone or everything we love is good for us but life in general is something to never give up, no matter what!

Please leave any comments you have and make sure to visit Cherylene’s blog and check out her poetry while you’re there.✨

img_5723-5

3 thoughts on “Poetry makes you feel & think…✨

Leave a Reply

