Discovering Our Passions: A Guest Post By Maggie✨

Are you all ready to read Maggie’s excellent guest post?! I’m sure you are but before you can get to it I have to say how much I enjoyed reading this when she sent it! All of you should know Maggie already but if you don’t, please check her blog out after reading! She blogs over at Dreaming Of Guatemala and she is honestly one of the sweetest persons I have met here, you won’t regret giving her a follow and maybe becoming friends? 💛

Her guest post made me do a lot of thinking and realizing that I am in fact on the right path. I’ve always loved writing, creating, and inspiring others but I also always questioned if that was really my true passion, if it was just a few hobbies I enjoy, or just a distraction until figuring out what I really want to do with my life. I didn’t grow up with a lot of positive support and still to this day when people ask me what I want to do with my life and I tell them something creative or involving writing they tell me basically that’s just a hobby, or just a dream that will be too hard to reach. They tell me I should go back to school so that I can become a nurse, or a teacher, tell me to just get a job etc. I’ve had jobs, I’ve worked 2 jobs at once, and I’ve always been miserable in those places. Well, besides TJMaxx which was my first job. It was a lot hard at first but once I finally started getting comfortable and the hang of things into a routine I started to like it. Discounts on cute clothes/accessories, making a couple of friends there, and people being proud of me helped too. As soon as I got comfortable our manager announced that our store would be closing down. For a while my anxiety wouldn’t allow me to start over at a new job, meeting new people, learning procedures all over again.

Eventually, I got a higher paying job at a warehouse. The pay was nice, but of course the hours were long, I didn’t really click with the other workers, I was constantly having anxiety attacks and would leave early. That was the first moment I realized I wasn’t happy with where I was in life and that maybe a 9-5 or whatever shift most people work probably wasn’t for me. I need to set my own hours, I need to be comfortable in my work area, most times I work best alone. I eventually tried out 2nd shift to see if maybe I just couldn’t stand working mornings. Maybe 2nd shift was a lot more relaxed and I could be a little more comfortable?

This was true, 2nd shift was definitely a lot more relaxed, less workers, sometimes even less work. Unfortunately my anxiety didn’t stop there. There was even a time where I just wanted to be at home so I could write, I was at my packing station and literally used the receipt paper to write my thoughts down, they were lines to a poem and I didn’t want to forget them since I wouldn’t be clocking out until 1:30 AM. I left early a few more times before losing the job for good. This was the 2nd moment I realized there was something else meant for me. Or maybe I just need to get my anxiety under control?

I started writing stories on Facebook, and making customs for friends/family (shirts, shoes, birthday outfits, room decor etc) people immediately loved what they saw and wanted me to do the same for them, a lot of them where asking how much I will charge which I hadn’t even thought about charging for this! So, this was the start of my small business. I made mostly decor and birthday outfits, I even sold to people in different states, I was very proud of this and was always happy working! I could do things on my own time, take breaks whenever I needed, have my own space, and set my own prices. As for my stories, I had about 4 or 5 thousand people reading between my Facebook and Wattpad account. People were asking if and when they could purchase the book… It was never a book, just a story I created on the spot and uploaded a part each day. I guess it was somewhat successful because a lot of people love drama and suspense, the story had much of that! I wanted to turn it into a book but so many people were reading, commenting, and some even getting upset that I wasn’t working fast enough for them. Then something very tragic happened in my life that i’m not going to talk about but it just completely shut me down. I plan on going back to Wattpad eventually, but here I am here on WordPress, still writing and creating! 

Despite everything that goes on, writing is something I always stick with. This was the 3rd sign that let me know that I was working on a PASSION and not just a hobby. Am I saying I will never work a 9-5 again? Or even a part time job somewhere? No. If I absolutely need to I will. If i get this anxiety under control maybe I will. But will I be happy about it? No. Will I be miserable? Probably. I just know that I won’t be giving up writing and working on my creativity. I just know that I’m always going to feel more at peace and more productive in life when I’m doing those things while inspiring others. It doesn’t make me lazy, which I’ve been called. I’m just doing what I feel is best for me, not what everyone else only think is best.

Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, lets see what Maggie has to say 🙂

Hi guys! Thank you so much for taking the time to drop by Lee’s blog. 💖 She has an absolutely beautiful site here at Golden Pink Journal, and I am very honored and excited to get to guest post on here today!!

The topic of this post, as you can see from the title, is about discovering our passions. How can we locate the things that bring us joy? And, once we know about them, how do we incorporate them into our lives? That’s what I’ll be talking about today. I hope that you enjoy! ✨✨

~~~~

At a few different times in my life, I have had the wonderful privilege to talk to someone who was utterly passionate about what they loved to do. From music, to blogging, as well as other hobbies, I could immediately tell how much those things meant to them, and how happy and motivated they were by them.

After getting to talk to those people, I found myself sadly discouraged. It wasn’t that I wanted the specific passion they had, as those were the the things they loved, not me, but I DID yearn for the passion they felt for those things. I desired to be joyful about something like they were. I wondered where my passion/s were and what it would be like once they came to me.

And then I wondered … maybe passions don’t find us; maybe WE have to find THEM.

When you love something and you put your whole heart into it, people are bound to notice. If you love fashion and beauty, and you become skilled at matching colors and outfits, styling your hair, and becoming really good at makeup, that stands out. If you love blogging, and you write stellar articles, have the perfect blog layout for you that’s beautiful and also easy to navigate, and are enthusiastic in your responses back to people, other bloggers notice that and are attracted to your joy and enthusiasm.

However, there are a good many of us who don’t have any passions – yet. Or, we actually do, but haven’t realized it.

So, for those of us who’d like to see if we can find what we’re passionate about in life, I made a simple little test for you where you can fill in the hobby/interest and ask yourself if it means as much to you as a passion would. Here are a few examples: reading, singing, gaming, teaching, learning new things, gardening, crafting, art, pizza (yes, I said pizza. Just try it out LOL), horseback riding, book reviewing … the list goes on and on!

Your Potential Passion

  • Does it bring you joy?
  • Are you good at it?
  • Does it mean a lot to you?
  • Have you loved it for a long time?
  • Do you love talking about it with others?
  • Do other people comment on your love for it?

If you answered ‘yes’ to the majority or all of those questions, then the answer is YES!! You’ve found your passion! 💖💖 and if you answered ‘no’ to more than a few, don’t sweat it; side hobbies are absolutely amazing, too. They’re just not as exciting or invigorating as passions.

Once you’ve found what you are passionate about (or if you already have), there are different things you can do to keep it incorporated into your life.

  1. Keep doing it! Most start out as hobbies and interests, so whether that’s something you visit, play, write, etc, continue to do what makes you so happy. ❤
  2. Research it. I know that sounds extremely boring, haha, but hear me out: if you love makeup, and you love learning how to better use and apply it, read up on what products are best for your skin type and tone, watch tutorials on YouTube, get inspired on Pinterest – in other words, grow and cultivate it!
  3. Look into potential jobs and careers with it. This completely depends on what you’re passionate about, but if possible, you should see if you can incorporate it into a future job/career! There are few things more beautiful than having a job that you absolutely love.

I hope that this has inspired you to go out there and chase after what sets your soul on fire!! Let us know in the comments below what YOUR passions are – and if you’ve found any new ones after reading this post!

I love writing stories, blogging, and inspiring others. What are you passionate about?

YES, go ahead and let us know in the comments what your passions are and what you thought about this amazing post 🙂 You’ll be seeing more of Maggie on my blog this week!

img_5723-3

26 thoughts on “Discovering Our Passions: A Guest Post By Maggie✨

  1. I had so much fun writing this post, Lee, and I’m glad that it was for a guest post on your blog!! 💕✨ I hope and pray that one day, your career will involve writing, creating, maybe a bit of both – many people get their main income from those things. 🙂 I used to be on Wattpad, but I’m not anymore…maybe the day you decide to join again, I’ll get back on there too and share my writing! 💓

    Liked by 3 people

    1. That would be great! I’d definitely love to read your stories Maggie. Maybe you could start sharing some here and then back on Wattpad? I think I may put some of my short stories from my blog on Wattpad I’m not sure yet.

      Like

  2. Great post Maggie! “Discovering your passion” this is truly an amazing thing. You are filled with so much love and drive that ‘special’ brings you that you can’t get from doing anything else. You want to do it, it does not feel like a chore or work in fact, it inspires you and brings you and the people who see and experience it joy too! Thank you ladies. 🙂 Make today a great one!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Wasn’t this a pleasant surprise!! I had no idea when I went to your blog this morning that you’d be doing a guest post! It is fantastic! All of these are great ways to find out what you are passionate about and continuing to grow that passion. Well done Maggie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

