Natural Hair Series: Products I Use✨

For part 2 of my Natural Hair Series I’m going to be sharing all of the products I’ve used so far. I’m sharing the ones I love and the ones I will not be purchasing again. Hair care products are trial and error. It’s easy to become a product junkie but I think for the first year I’ve done pretty well not purchasing too much. What works for my hair may not work for yours, just as what works for yours may not work for mine. Everyone’s hair is different and takes to products differently. Again, it has to do with your hair porosity, texture, thickness etc. Later on in the week I’ll show you ways you can test your hair porosity.

The first 3 products are from the Cantu natural hair line. It’s the Hydrating Cream Conditioner, Complete Conditioning Co-wash, and the Moisturizing Curl Activator Cream. All have a light tropical scent! This was the first line I tried when I big chopped and I would recommended them to anyone just starting out who might be clueless on what products to use. This may not be the absolute BEST line but it works just as well as some of the most popular/expensive brands in my opinion. I have nothing negative to say. Cheap and works well? That’s all you need! This is also the only line I’ve used at least 3 of their products. Like most natural hair products, the line uses no sulfates, silicones, or parabens.


The next products are Shea Moisture’s JBCO Strengthen, Grow, & Restore Treatement Masque, and their Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo.  I love the masque and would definitely buy it again, it leaves my hair super soft and curls poppin’! I use a masque about twice a month. I do want to try their manuka honey masque though. I think it will be just as great if not better. The shampoo however is not a favorite. I feel that it does a good job getting my hair clean but even while using it my hair feels dry and I also end up having to use so much to get a good lather. I’ll finish this bottle but I probably won’t purchase it again. Shea Moisture is one of those popular/more expensive brands I mentioned. A lot of curly gals swear by SM! And I agree some of their products are pretty good but nope, this shampoo is a no for me.

The 3rd bottle in the picture is True by Made Beautiful’s Nourishing Leave-In Conditioner for all hair types. At first I wasn’t so sure about this product because it’s not really thick and I find that my hair loves thicker consistency in products. The bottle sold me though, and because it smells amazing! It also has a tropical scent, a bit stronger than Cantu. I went to a birthday party after using this product along with Cantu’s Curl Activator Cream and hugged my cousin…The first thing she said was “Mmm! Girl your hair smells good!” Lol.

The 4th bottle is so far my favorite conditioner! Aussie Moist 3 Minute Miracle, this stuff is really the truth! And again, many curly gals, even women with straight/wavy hair I’ve seen swear by this product so I highly recommend it. I usually detangle my hair while using Aussie Moist on wash days. It’s not a leave-in so I do go in with a leave in afterwards but if you want a good detangler, or a good deep conditioner that you only have to use for 3 minutes definitely give it a try. I’ve used it for 3 minutes and it does work, but I usually leave it in for 6-10 minutes and it works even better my opinion.

The Creme Of Nature Perfect Edges edge control should actually be in my list of products I won’t be purchasing again, I put it in this shot because it looks nice with the treatment masque. In the beginning I felt it was necessary to have slicked edges, or my “edges on fleek” well, I’d rather have my edges grow and not break off. It’s okay to do them occasionally with certain styles, but you don’t need to for every single style. I won’t be purchasing it again because it doesn’t even work for my hair. Maybe for an hour (if that) and then those edges curl right back up so what’s the point? Many type 4 naturals have this issue, and some use gorilla snot gel which I haven’t tried yet. The name is kind of off putting lol but supposedly it has a super strong hold.


I’ll definitely be trying more of the True line. Izabelle just walking by, she stays by mama lol.

The next 3 products are the oils I use and gel. Jamaican Black Castor Oil helps strengthen hair, nourishes, seals in moisture, and helps promote hair growth. This is something I will probably always use. A holy grail for sure! My hair always feels soft and moisturized for days after using. They have different kinds and I may try them all but so far I’ve only tried coconut. I recently purchased the original and will be trying it sometime this week.
I use the olive oil Eco Styler Gel, but they also have others like their new Black Castor Flaxseed Oil gel that I definitely will be trying. I’ve literally had this for a year! It lasts so long and a little goes a long way. I only use it for my twists and when I start to do braid-outs.



This last shot is of the products I will not be purchasing again.
img_6768

I actually didn’t purchase the Garnier Fructis products, my friend who actually has straight hair gave them to me because she didn’t like them for her own hair. Her hair was dry and damaged due to coloring so she was looking for something to help reduce frizz and rough ends. If you have heat or color damage the only thing you can do unfortunately is to cut it off. No product is going to bring it back to life. I’ve used Garnier Fructis products when I had relaxed hair and it worked well but i’m not quite sure I want to try it on my natural hair. If a product has any kind of alcohol in the first few ingredients, I usually won’t try it (besides Aussie Moist; since i’m not leaving that in) I took it because I do kind of want to test it out but ehhh..??? IDK.

AU Natural by Dark and Lovely (made with mango oil and bamboo milk) just didn’t impress me at all. I got this in the beginning of my journey to try to reduce some shrinkage. I later realized that those products that claim to be “Anti-Shrinkage” are a waste. Do not go for those products. Most likely you will be disappointed, it may help reduce a little shrinkage but then you wonder how? Dark and Lovely is also a popular relaxer/perming brand. No product will be anti-shrinkage, you’re still going to experience it unless your hair is completely damaged or relaxed. Shrinkage shows that your curly/kinky hair is healthy! I had to use so much of the shampoo, and I don’t even remember how the leave-in conditioner was. The only good thing I have to say about this product is that it smells nice…

Lastly, Wild Growth Hair Oil. So many people swear by this product, men and women. But the scent isn’t pleasant and I just can’t believe that a product made specifically for growth really works unless you really test it out. I don’t mean try it out for a month and see if your hair has grown… How do you know that it was the product and not just regular hair growth? How do you know it’s not other products or what you’re doing, or putting into your body? I feel like the only way you can get somewhat of an accurate result is to not use any growth products for a period of time and measure the growth, and then use the product for the same period of time and measure if it’s grown more or less. Or maybe cut/shave some of your hair on each side, on one side use the product consistently, and on the other side not at all. Something I don’t want to spend time doing. Many people don’t do this when they give their reviews. I purchased this product when I first big chopped because I was obviously wanting length at the time. Cutting my hair off I was nearly bald! I wasn’t comfortable with my hair that short because short hair is not usually seen as the most attractive for girls, I was even made fun of and had disapproval by family members. Still to this day actually and it’s been a year. But now I don’t care so much about length or others opinions. My hair is beautiful, healthy, growing, and is no longer chemically treated to be in a way that it wasn’t meant to be. That’s all that matters.

*Update*

I forgot to add Eden Body Works Coconut Shea Leave In Conditioner and Johoba Monoi Moisturizing Shampoo. I picked these up from the dollar store, I haven’t tried them yet so I can’t give any type of review besides that they both smell really good, I’m trying the shampoo because it claims to be moisturizing. They didn’t have the complete line to either which is why I got 2 different. I went to YouTube for reviews and so far the best reviews are for the leave in conditioner. I’ve seen mainly negative reviews for the shampoo, hopefully this is different for me. I’ll be trying them out sometime this week.


What products do you use for your hair? Have you used any of the products I mentioned? Are there any products you would recommend trying? Let me know in the comments.💛

img_5723-2

11 thoughts on “Natural Hair Series: Products I Use✨

    1. Have you tried the shampoo or anything else? I haven’t, and I only know of people that use the 3 minute moist lol but I’m curious to know it they all work just as great

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I used to use some of their other styling products when I was in middle/high school, but I haven’t in a while. My boyfriend has used the shampoo and conditioner and he likes them just fine, but I have no idea if they’re good for different types of hair. I’d imagine so (:

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah it can be difficult and time consuming I admit. But it’s worth it in the long run. I’m still trying to work out the best routine for myself but I’m doing pretty good now

      Like

  1. I use Eco Style Gel, T-Tree Herbal Grow, and Duke Greaseless Holding Hair Dress. I look forward to more of these product reviews.

    Like

Leave a Reply

